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OHIO MINIMUM WAGE SET TO INCREASE ON JANUARY 1, 2013 

 

Ohio’s minimum wage is scheduled to increase on January 1, 2013 to $7.85 per hour for non-

tipped employees and to $3.93 per hour for tipped employees, plus tips. 

 

The 2012 Ohio minimum wage is $7.70 per hour for non-tipped employees and $3.85 for tipped 

employees, plus tips. 

 

On January 1, 2013, the increased minimum wage will apply to employees of businesses with 

annual gross receipts of more than $288,000 per year.  The 2012 Ohio minimum wage applies to 

employees of businesses with annual gross receipts of more than $283,000 per year. 

 

The Constitutional Amendment passed by Ohio voters in November 2006 states that Ohio’s 

minimum wage shall increase on January 1 of each year by the rate of inflation.  The state 

minimum wage is tied to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for urban wage earners and clerical 

workers for the 12-month period prior to September.  This CPI index rose 1.7 percent from 

September 1, 2011 to August 31, 2012.  The Amendment also states that the wage rate for non-

tipped employees shall be rounded to the nearest five cents.  The Constitutional Amendment is 

available at:  www.legislature.state.oh.us/constitution.cfm?Part=2&Section=34a 

 

For employees at smaller companies (with annual gross receipts of $283,000 or less per year in 

2012 or $288,000 or less per year after January 1, 2013) and for 14- and 15-year-olds, the state 

minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.   For these employees, the state wage is tied to the federal 

minimum wage of $7.25 per hour which requires an act of Congress and the President’s signature 

to change.   

 

Information on Ohio’s 2013 minimum wage is available at 

http://www.com.ohio.gov/laws/docs/dico_2013MinimumWageposter.pdf 
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